terewwizards.blogg.se

Stu stu stuttering song marks
Stu stu stuttering song marks










  1. #Stu stu stuttering song marks how to
  2. #Stu stu stuttering song marks plus

But I've also learned a lot doing music and leading a band, valuable lessons that apply in the business world - so many that I'm thinking of developing a speaking program about it. I learned a lot in the business world that has applied to my music career. Most of the really good musicians I know have widely varied tastes in music, even if they do have one or two they specialize in. Gigs lead to more gigs, and broadening your musical horizons is like branching out into other goods or services you can offer. It sounds obvious, but I've been surprised at the number of musicians who've passed up gigs because they weren't convenient, or required them to learn some music that was out of their wheelhouse.

stu stu stuttering song marks

If you're a good musician, the best marketing tool is the chance to have your talent be seen and heard. There's a lot I learned from selling advertising - the number one rule is it's not just about the sale, it's about the relationship and the trust that while of course you want to make a living, you want to do so by meeting their needs and helping them meet their goals as well. And once you make the sale and nurture a good relationship with the client, you make more sales. If you want to make money at it, you need to treat it as such, unless you're one of those lucky ones who have a manager to handle the business end of things - and even if you do, you better understand what they're doing or you'll end up fighting with them a lot. Music, after all, isn't just an art, it's a business.

#Stu stu stuttering song marks how to

I also worked on the editorial side, for several groups of local papers and for Long Island Business News, where I learned how to ask questions and distill information for an audience. And all of this came in handy when I decided to become a professional musician. But selling advertising taught me how to knock on doors and make phone calls, write business letters and make pitches.

stu stu stuttering song marks

I didn't like selling it, but I liked writing it, and coming up with creative concepts. I hated selling advertising for a local shopper and slightly less for an actual local newspaper I liked it a bit more for the Long Island rock radio station. Not everybody knows, but before I became a full-time musician I had careers in advertising, journalism, and (briefly) in public relations.

#Stu stu stuttering song marks plus

Plus it's the most fun! I hope you'll give it a listen, and enjoy the music as much as I do.

stu stu stuttering song marks

It has been my greatest effort and reward as an original songwriter and touring musician, and also probably my most commercially viable project in the music business today, offering specialty tribute shows of culturally significant 1960s music, re-imaginings of historic traditional folk songs, and creative arrangements of songs by many top contemporary songwriters, as well as our own compositions. Hi! If you're checking out my website because the WSJ Article spurred your interest, thank you! I also urge you to check out my most important musical project, the folk-rock/Americana harmony trio, Gathering Time.












Stu stu stuttering song marks